The Nemesis

‘Are you okay?’, they ask,

‘Where’s the shine in your eyes?’

And I cannot tell them

For me, simply blinking is a task,

So up I put the Wall of Lies.

 

They tell me to look around, breathe slow,

And to marvel at the magnificent mountains…

And I cannot tell them

About the weight of one on my heart, no,

So I let the mask take over; the truth never fountains.

 

They whisper some tales, some happy tales,

To fill the void in my soul…

And I cannot tell them

They can’t walk through my skin (scales)

And the void is all I am as a whole.

 

I fake a twinkle and a split-second smile,

So they feel accomplished and at peace…

But I cannot tell them

I’m just pretending to be human for a while

And once they’re gone, this act will cease.

 

And I’d be lying in the dark, the wonderful dark,

Pitch black and quiet as the night…

I won’t be able to tell myself

Why I should change my emotional arc,

When the cold is better than the light.

 

 

Image Credit

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

