The Dirty Secret

Cross their hearts and hope they die,

Beneath their white, little lie.

Eyes wide shut, no love in them;

Just empty words and a lecherous smile,

Embarked upon my heart awhile,

Drawing in my life a silent mayhem.

 

I break a little when I cannot see:

What is it that I am meant to be?

No holding hands on the streets,

No flowers, no sweet nothings,

I come attached with no strings,

Just a dirty secret beneath their sheets?

 

Close my heart to love, I must.

Only hurt will I get with trust.

I must protect my soul and cage it down;

Wear my jewels and my rosette,

This is as close to love I’ll get,

Yet a tear rolls across my Mistress’s Crown.

 

image credit

Leave a Reply

