Pain is my Relief

Looking in the mirror,
Looking at me,
Caged and locked inside my head,
Just wanting to be free.

.
‘Stay strong’, I say to myself
An advice in vain,
Crying at my reflection,
There’s no escape from this pain.

.
So unhappy, so broken,
A flightless bird without wings,
Helpless, powerless, just so defeated,
Song of lament, my heart sings.

.

Can somebody pick up all my pieces?
Fix my damaged soul?
Bring happiness into my life,
Replace this sadness that’s beyond control?

.

Yet I can’t run away from the pain,
My heart’s forever indebted to grief
For even though it’s slowly killing me,
Pain is my only relief.

Leave a Reply

