Ashes to Dust

The sadness I’ve felt, oh in sadness I’ve dwelled!

My heart looking for content, a thirst never to be quelled!

Yet when they look at me, they see no tears to be found,

For I cry from my veins, leave traces on the ground.

My secrets stay with me, oh how they stay with me,

Poisoning me with hatred, red anger and agony!

How much can one hold, without drowning inside?

How long can one suffocate on all that they hide?

“Why not say something? Why not spurt it all out?”

I’m often asked, my intentions cloud them with doubt,

But how do I sing about misery when they pretend to be deaf?

To my cries and my screams against this life of theft?

So when I walk away one day, oh I’ll walk away one day,

Don’t try to look for me, don’t bother to find a way,

For you can wear your mask and dress yourself in fake concern,

But you cannot make ashes return to before the state of burn.

One thought on “Ashes to Dust

Leave a comment